Uncategorized

the night of Rogan Josh

Rogan Josh is a Kashmiri Lamb dish. I tasted this years back when my dad had prepared this using the Madhur Jaffrey book as a guide.  And it had tasted divine.

This is the first time ever I cooked lamb. Lamb is kinda difficult to find. Difficult as in you will not find it in your Kroger’s or FoodLion so we had to go to the pricey and schmorganic Whole Foods market. A pound of Lamb shoulder is $6.99, not too bad eh!

So anyway, here we go.

Oh and I used this chef’s recipe as my guide. Word for word. 🙂

Chop two big red onions into chunks. NOT finely chopped. Like this.

Pour around 4 tbs oil into a shallow dish and when hot add these whole-spices.

2 bay leaves, 2-3 sticks of cinnamon, 5-6 cloves and some cardamom(black preferably but white would do too!)

Next add those onions and keep stirring. You want to brown the onions so you want to keep patiently stirring for a while till they reach that desired color.

Next add a little ginger-garlic paste( I am sorry I do not often measure the amount, just always toss in based on how much I am cooking) and stir again.

Next add the cubes of lamb and stir them thoroughly. You want all of the pieces to be braised evenly. Next add some water, enough to cover the entire mixture. Add salt to taste and then cover and cook on medium flame for about 20-25 minutes.

I love perfection when I am cooking, so I covered and cooked till I felt the meat was succulent enough. I probably could have gone on longer too but at the 30 minute mark I was nearing my patience levels.

Next, you want to add the different spices. This chef was talking about a trick he employs. Before adding in the Kashmiri Red Chili powder, he actually adds water to it first,stirs it and then pours that into the pot. This way you get the flavors of the chili.

This gives the curry a nice red color too, so typical of Indian restaurant dishes.

Next add some fennel powder. I had to crush some fennel seeds and toss them in. The only thing I did not have was ginger powder so I instead tossed in a few thin flakes of raw ginger.

Then finally add some whisked yogurt. I actually did whisk the yogurt by the way!

Cook uncovered for about 10-15 more minutes till the gravy thickens.

And this is how Lamb rogan josh looked like.

adorable isn't it? 😉
look at the all oil floating around hehe!

It was damn delicious, may be not as spectacular as I had remembered it from years ago. But worth every bite.

I had also made some cucumber raita and we had it over hot rice.

2 thoughts on “the night of Rogan Josh

Leave a Reply

