Uncategorized

March 2013 Favorites

We are visiting my in-laws for Easter now. It is a beautiful day out here today. We have been having so many bad days, this time of the year, that even one mildly okay day seems like a blessing. I slept well, woke up had a small but delicious breakfast- one fried egg, bacon and toast. Of course some coffee. Then I set aside an hour to write for this god damn English paper. You would think I would love the English class and love writing. But I love writing as long as I am not being graded for punctuation and MLA formatting nonsense. Ugh! Highly irritating. Well, anyway. Then I had a nice shower and we all went out to the park for a long walk. We came back and had a small lunch of leftovers. We are having a kinda big supper tonight- roasted lamb and some potatoes may be. Life is good right now.

I found some time to come up and be by myself. I need my ‘my’ time if I can. I love my alone time. So, I decided to do a quick March favorites. I have not brought everything with me but I have the most important ones. I did not shop for make-up this month cause I kinda splurged with the mac concealer. So, I cut myself off. Doing pretty good still with the make-up buying ban. Also, I have decided to use products that I already own, so yes, not a whole lot.

Well, no surprise that this is one of my current favorites and most used. When the mac girl first put it on me in the store, I was sold. Then when I bought it and opened it, I was kinda surprised. It looked solid and hard to blend in. I was not sure how to apply this under the delicate under-eye area and not tug. But you know, it is quite emollient actually. I warm it up with my finger first and then take the slightest bit and pat it under my eye, a little around my nose to cover the redness. It blends easily. And a little goes a long way. I think it is a very good investment and it was a good way to start using mac products. I do want to next buy the prep and primer. But that is for some other time. This is how it looks like.

mac studio fix concealer in NW 30
mac studio finish concealer in NW 30

Next, is this wet n wild palette ‘walking on eggshells’. I really have been enjoying using this. It is such a no fuss,everyday palette. The eyelid color is subtle but flattering. The crease color adds a nice dimension to the crease. And these are so pigmented. I mean, seriously, wet n wild is a great bargain. Only $2.99 or $3.99 !

wet n wild 'walking on eggshells'
wet n wild ‘walking on eggshells’

I have been using this color whisper a lot too. Now, this is not exactly a lipstick in my opinion. It is a lightweight version of the Revlon lip-butter. It is buildable but it doesn’t last too long on my lips to build on. But it is smooth, moisturising and has decent color pay-off. I like it for what it is.

Maybelline Color Whisper in 'a plum prospect'
Maybelline Color Whisper in ‘a plum prospect’
its swatch!
its swatch!

One last eye product I have been using off and on this month and loving is this Maybelline Color Tattoo in ‘Inked in Pink’. I love this so much! You can use this as a base or just a shadow by itself, which is what I normally do.

Maybelline color tattoo 'inked in pink'
Maybelline color tattoo ‘inked in pink’

I guess that is really it. Short and simple like I promised.

Happy Easter !!

2 thoughts on “March 2013 Favorites

Leave a Reply

