Uncategorized

Pixi by Petra soft focus fresh palette

This is my first legit palette purchase. I do not have a palette palette other than from the drugstore and that I purchased. I saw this on Hautelook about a month back and it was on sale for $9! It retails for $34 at Target and the pixi website, so I thought it was a pretty major deal. Also, Emily Noel had a wonderful review on this on her blog and she is someone I highly trust when it comes to make-up recommendations.

Pixi soft focus fresh palette
Pixi soft focus fresh palette

Let me tell you, this is a neat palette. It comes with 12 eyeshadows, 6 cheek colors and 4 lip-glosses.

outer group -eyeshadows in pairs of 2, middle group of 6 cheek colors and lower four are the lip-glosses
outer group -eyeshadows in pairs of 2, middle group of 6 cheek colors and lower four are the lip-glosses

There are may be 4 matte shades which I appreciate. I think I am a new matte lover. Yes, I do not mind fine shimmer and all but for an everyday look, I like neutral matte colors. Here are the swatches of all the eyeshadows.

All the shadows on the left.
All the shadows on the left.
right set of shadows
right set of shadows

I feel all of them except may be one are very well-pigmented and easy to work with. Just a slight dab of your brush and you are good to go. I especially admire them because all of the colors are in my comfort zone. I can create a slightly bolder look too if I am feeling adventurous for a night-time look.

I like the matte flesh-color shadow for blending out the dark color in the crease. I love the rich chocolate brown in the crease and the matte white as a highlight under my brow.

The cheek colors are very nice too, although to be honest I have not used every one of them. I have used only 2 colors so far. The one on the third row right looks to me like a matte bronzer. All of them look like they have good pigmentation.

I have really not played with the lip-glosses what with some of my lip-issues going on now. I have this irritated patch of skin around my lips and I am a little nervous to put anything on my lips that might make things worse.

But all in all, a pretty good purchase. Now, am not sure if I would have paid $34 for this. If you are interested then you must keep an eye on Hautelook cause they seem to go on sale quite often.

 

(PS: I will be posting some duplicate blogs on here and my new blog if the subject matter isn’t personal and all.)

Leave a Reply

