Uncategorized

the end is kind of in sight..

If you guys know me at all, you know that I have to say something when something is sort of a milestone. So, today I started back school after 3 months of summer vacation. It is special because this is going to be the last semester of nursing school. I have waited for this for a long time and Lord knows I have paid my dues. I am 32, I changed careers at 27, worked a few odd jobs, dabbled in some un-Indian adventures and gambled with that sanctimonious ‘job security’ we Indians love to possess to get to where I am right now. I have earned this moment. But not without my support system. And to be quite honest, that support system is my husband. Without his encouragement and positive attitude and his ability to help us four through this financial mess, I would not have fulfilled my dream of going back to school.

I feel indebted to him forever.

And even though my parents were at first not on board with the whole career change idea, and understandably so, they are parents after all, they warmed up to it and helped fund all of my nursing school tuition! And that is a lot. It took a lot of pressure off me and I am grateful that my parents had the financial ability to help me out. It hurt and still hurts my pride especially when I see my peers have galloped ahead in this ‘race‘. But this journey has also taught me to try to react less to other’s journey and to appreciate the journey each of us is on. My journey turned out quite unique and so did theirs.

I am 4 months away from graduating. I have less energy these days and I hope I can just sail through these last 4 months, protect my pregnancy from undue stress and still savor every bit of it.

Leave a Reply

